sales@biotechnologyforums.com to feature here

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Taq polymerase storage
Dear all,
The Taq polymerase storage is usually -20 degree. I have a freezer -40 degree, so my boss didn't agree my order (Taq polymerase) because the temperature storage is not match.
Can we store Taq below -20 degree? and do you have any references to prove the answer?
Thanks all
Like Post Reply
Cryoprotection

The crux of this question is whether the storage buffer in which the Taq polymerase is provided is sufficiently cryoprotective to allow the enzyme to be stored at -40°C rather than -20°C. You do not state in your query which company you wished to order the Taq polymerase from or whether you consulted them as to whether you could store the enzyme at -40°C. They are certain to have storage and use specifications for their enzyme on the product data sheet that would accompany their Taq polymerase; your query implies that they specify storage at -20°C but it would still be worth consulting them. I would surmise that the storage buffer may be insufficiently cryoprotective for prolonged storage below -20°C.